What is God’s Plan? – Devotional

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isa. 55:9”

I woke up this morning with the same question on my lips that has been there for the past several months, “What is God’s plan for me?”  Am I to continue in my teaching job despite the challenges of my brain injury?  As Brian and I become empty nesters, are we supposed to stay in our comfortable community where our family and friends are, or are we supposed to venture out, move to a new location, and meet new people?  Is God calling me to do different mission work than what I’m already doing?  What is it that God intended as a result of my accident other than to learn the lessons of patience and perseverance that continue to consume me on a daily basis?

Every time this question of God’s plan bubbles to the surface, I expect there to be a ray of light that beams fiercely through the clouds – illuminating the path that I’m to step on and follow as it leads me to a sign that boldly announces:  THIS IS GOD’S PLAN FOR YOU.  As reassuring as that sounds, would I truly be happy to know God’s ultimate plan for me?  What if I see the plan and don’t like it?  What if the plan scares me?  What if the plan means experiencing more pain and discomfort than what I’m already feeling?  What if the plan is boring or uneventful?  What if, knowing the plan, I decide to take matters into my own hands in order to alter the plan?  What if, what if?

As I ponder this question more deeply, I begin to reflect on the fact that only God is “all-knowing”.  Only God can state with certainty that the plan that he has for me is correct down to the smallest, minute detail.  Only God knows how the plan for me is to unfold in order to create a ripple effect that intertwines beautifully with the plans he has created for countless others.  Only God can reveal his plan in the manner that will make the most sense, have the most meaning, have the deepest effect, and bring the most joy to me.  Therefore, I surrender my thoughts into shaping a new set of questions. “How will I welcome God into my life today so that his plan unfolds the way in which he intended?”  “How will I praise God today for the small opportunities that he presents to me as a part of His Plan?”  “How will I try to avoid being consumed with the big “What if” questions and simply live my life today in a way that is pleasing to God and mirrors his plan for me?”

God is the divine architect.  He develops plans for each of us that are far greater than we can ever imagine.  Although our minds cannot fathom all that is done and accomplished by God on our behalf, we can rest assured that his plan was woven far before we ever started asking the question about our purpose in life.  God’s plan is ever present in my life and I will try to awake each morning expectantly waiting to see what part of that plan will unfold throughout the day.

“Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.” – Psalm 139:16 (NIV)

Leave a Reply

